BHA Waterproofing Certification Program

For the most past, the waterproofing industry is a self-regulated industry.  At this point anyone with a contractor’s license can install a waterproofing and drainage system.  While manufacturers and contracting companies may offer installation training, most regions do not require official certifications or licenses (beyond a contractor’s license) for waterproofers.  Waterproofing and structural repair contractors are very different from plumbers and should not require a plumber’s license to do basement, crawlspace and foundation work.

That is why it is important that the Basement Health Association has developed a waterproofing certification program for below-grade, above-grade and structural repair specialists.  The BHA is also developing a crawlspace certification program.

BHA Certified Specialists are recognized as members of the industry who demonstrate superior knowledge in their field and dedication to continued education and the highest ethical standards.

Currently, the BHA has three main certifications programs: Certified Waterproofing Specialist (CWS); Certified Above-Grade Waterproofing Specialist (CAWS); and Certified Structural Repair Specialist (CSRS).

To qualify to become certified, contractors must be a member of the waterproofing industry for at least two years and their company must be a member of the association for at least one year.

After qualifying they are tested in various technical areas including safety and ethics. However, the certification process does not stop when they pass the written exam. To maintain their certification, they must obtain 15 hours of continuing education every two years and uphold the ethical standards of the association.

13 thoughts on “BHA Waterproofing Certification Program

  1. Basements to Roofs would love the opportunity to become a member and eventually become certified in the certification programs you offer. Thanks

  2. Most of the people prefer specialist person for carrying out waterproofing in their house. Therefore, this program will benefit people who specialize in waterproofing field.

    • We actually don’t have a class. Our certifications are designed to quantify your experience. So, a BHA certification is actually testing your existing knowledge of OSHA safety and your business background at the same time the test examines your experience. The certification is a nationally benchmarked exam that measures your experience.
      Jeff Roberts
      Association Executive
      Basement Health Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>